What Are the Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements?
Becoming a real estate sales agent is an exciting career choice! From helping others find the home of their dreams to viewing amazing properties before they go on the market, the world of real estate sales offers many amazing benefits. But before you can become an agent, you will need to secure your real estate license. To become a salesperson in Louisiana, you must first meet these seven real estate license requirements. Learn what you need to get and maintain your license. And find out how Bob Brooks School can help!
1. Meet the Prerequisites
To begin your real estate pre-licensing education in Louisiana, you must first meet the preliminary requirements. Luckily, these are simple. First, you must be 18 years of age or older. And second, you must have your high school diploma or GED. Once you have met these prerequisites, you can move forward with your pre-licensing courses.
2. Complete 90 hours of Pre-Licensing
The next of your Louisiana real estate license requirements is to complete 90 hours of real estate pre-licensing education. At Bob Brooks School, you’ll find all the courses you need to reach your required hours. Each lesson is led by Brent Lancaster, the president and CEO of our company. With over 15 years in adult education, he makes sure that course material is engaging and easily understandable. And, he is available to answer any questions you have throughout your studies! But the best part of our real estate courses is that you can take them online in a schedule that works best for you. And when you sign up through Bob Brooks School, you can get your first few lessons for free!
3. Pass a Background Check
When you work with a professional, you want to be able to trust in their capabilities and their character. This is why a background check is necessary to become a licensed real estate agent in Louisiana! This will cover a criminal background check, sex offender registries, employment verifications, driving history, and more. If you have been convicted of a felony, it is still possible to receive your license following the felony applicant process. Once cleared without any offenses, it’s time to take your licensing exam.
4. Pass Your Licensing Exam
Your pre-licensing education will prepare you for your licensing exam. To pass this state exam, you must receive a score of 75% or higher. This means that you must answer a minimum of 40 questions out of 55 to pass. Your test will be administered by PSI Exams Online. This exam is $75 and has a time limit of 75 minutes. Should you fail to pass, you can retake your test at a later date.
5. Become Sponsored by a Licensed Louisiana Broker
To perform real estate work, a newly licensed real estate agent is required to work with an established broker to learn the skills needed to succeed in the field. During this time with the brokerage, you will receive guidance and resources to help you excel in real estate sales. Once you have been sponsored by a licensed real estate broker, you are eligible to receive your license!
6. Provide Proof of Mandatory Errors and Omissions Before Getting Your License
No matter if you are a licensed salesperson, broker, or insurance agent, the Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC) requires that active licensees have errors and omissions insurance. This protects agents against possible problems and losses. Should a client sue for negligence or other errors during your business together, this insurance can protect your brokerage from losses that traditional liability insurance may not cover.
7. Complete Post-Licensing and Continuing Education Courses
Aside from the Louisiana real estate license requirements you must meet before gaining your license, you must also complete education to maintain your license. At Bob Brooks School, we offer both the necessary post-licensing and continuing education course material you need to complete your required hours. These courses help real estate agents to learn about changing trends, applicable practices, and more to become successful salespeople or brokers.
Meet the Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements With Bob Brooks School!
If you have met your prerequisites and are ready to begin your real estate courses, get in touch with Bob Brooks School today! Whether you need your pre-licensing, post-licensing, or continuing education classes, we have LREC-approved course material to help you succeed. Purchase your classes on our website or get in touch with us with any questions. You can reach us at 225-292-7277 or send us a message through our website to get started.