6 Steps to Get a Real Estate License in Louisiana
So, you want to get your real estate license, but you’re wondering how to get a real estate license in Louisiana. It might seem like a complicated process, but if you take it step by step, you can achieve your dreams. Once you go through all these steps and receive your license, it will open countless doors and opportunities for you.
1. Check if You Meet State Requirements
Luckily, the first step of how to get a real estate license in Louisiana is the easiest step and sets you off with a strong start. You need to check Louisiana state requirements for real estate licenses. You must fit the following criteria.
- Must be 18 years of age
- Must have obtained a high school diploma or equivalency certificate (GED)
- Must show proof of successful completion of 90 hours of real estate education in courses approved by the Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC)
- Must comply with all application procedures required by the LREC
- Must pass the real estate salesperson licensing examination
- Must be supervised by a licensed real estate broker and provide proof of errors and omissions insurance prior to license issuance
2. Complete the Required Pre-Licensing Course
Next, you need to complete the required 90 hours of real estate pre-licensing courses. 90 hours is a lot, and Bob Brooks School understands how booked your schedule can get. Luckily, you can make your own schedule online with Bob Brooks School to adhere to your needs. All of our courses are LREC approved.
3. Pass the Real Estate Exam
After you’ve completed your Louisiana real estate license course, you need to hit the books and start preparing for the LREC exam. You need to answer at least 70% correctly to pass. To study, check out our Ready, Set, Pass! Review. This study aid is included with the pre-licensing course for free.
To schedule your exam, you must create an applicant account in the LREC web portal to get an ID. Once you have your ID, you’ll need to send in your application to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission. After you finish your pre-licensing course, Bob Brooks School will report to the company that holds the state and national exams, PSI. Once PSI confirms all your information, you will receive an email to schedule and pay for your exam.
4. Order a Background Check
5. Pick a Broker to Sponsor You
After passing the exam with flying colors, you need to find the right broker to sponsor your real estate training. This is one of the first major decisions in your real estate career, so it is important to be sure you are being trained by the right broker. With the right broker leading your journey, your real estate goals will be more attainable than ever before.
6. Apply for Your Louisiana License
Finally, you can apply for your Louisiana real estate license. Now that you’ve received your license, don’t forget to enroll in your post-licensing and continuing education courses. Bob Brooks School is dedicated to education at all stages of your career.
Ready to Take On the World of Louisiana Real Estate?
If you feel ready to take steps to achieve your goals now that you know how to get a real estate license in Louisiana, we want to help. Bob Brooks School can provide you with tools to confidently handle each step of the licensing process, and beyond. To learn more about these tools, explore our website or contact us with questions. You can call us at 225-292-7277 or message us online. Don’t wait to take the Louisiana real estate world by storm!